Many people across Orange County use convenient and popular rideshare services like Uber and Lyft. Unfortunately, that convenience does not protect riders from an injury accident caused by the rideshare driver or another motorist.
The laws surrounding rideshare accidents and who may be liable for your accident and injuries can be confusing. If you’ve been hurt, it is crucial to understand what insurance policies were in effect at the time of the accident. If you fail to do that, you may miss out on compensation that you need and deserve.
If you have questions after a Lyft or Uber car accident in Orange County, Silverthorne Attorneys can help. We are dedicated to helping individuals and families after an injury accident. We charge no fees unless we recover money for you. When you work with us, you will always be in control. At Silverthorne Attorneys, you decide what is fair, and we fight for your rights.
For a free consultation, call us today or use our online contact form.
How Do Insurance Claims Work in Rideshare Accidents?
Many people think they are covered by insurance if they are in an Uber or Lyft accident. But the reality is that insurance coverage from those rideshare companies depends on many factors. For example, the coverage from Uber and Lyft is significantly higher when the driver is transporting a passenger rather than waiting for a rider request.
Consider the insurance coverage in a few common situations:
- The rideshare driver has a passenger or is on the way to pick up a passenger. If the rideshare driver has a passenger or is on the way to pick one up, the rideshare companies should provide a significant amount of coverage for an accident. In most cases, those companies provide up to $1 million in auto liability coverage per accident. This amount is much higher than California’s minimum auto insurance requirements.
- The rideshare driver has the app turned on and is waiting for a ride request. If a driver has the app on and is only waiting for a ride request, the insurance amounts are much lower. In this situation, there is typically a $100,000 bodily injury limit per accident, a $50,000 limit per person, and a $25,000 limit for property damage. This is higher than California minimums. However, the insurance coverage is significantly less than when a driver is on the way to pick up a passenger or transporting one.
- The driver does not have the app turned on. If a driver does not have the app on, then Uber and Lyft do not cover the accident. That means that the driver’s insurance should cover it. The coverage will depend on state minimums and the driver’s own selections.
As you can see, the types and amounts of insurance coverage in an Uber or Lyft accident can vary greatly. If you have been injured in an accident, contact an Orange County Uber & Lyft accident attorney to understand what insurance may apply in your case.
Compensation After a Lyft or Uber Accident
After an Uber injury, you may be entitled to a range of compensation under California law. Compensation may include:
- Coverage of your lost wages and lost opportunities. An Uber accident can cause you to miss time from work and take away your opportunities to earn in the future.
- Compensation for the medical care you need following a rideshare accident. A car accident can land you in the hospital and require months or even years of follow-up treatment. As part of a rideshare claim, you may be able to obtain compensation for those medical costs.
- Pain and suffering compensation may be available. This additional compensation may be available, as well as compensation for your emotional distress. An accident can be a traumatic experience and lead to serious physical and mental problems.
- Property damage may also be covered. If your property is damaged or destroyed in an accident, compensation may cover repair or replacement costs.
After an Uber or Lyft accident, these and other types of compensation may be available. Speak with a rideshare accident lawyer to understand what types may apply in your case.
What to Do IF You’ve Been Hurt in an Uber or Lyft Accident
If you have been hurt in an Uber or Lyft accident, take these steps to protect yourself:
- Contact emergency services to make sure anyone who is injured gets medical attention.
- Make sure to get a police report of the accident.
- Take photos of any injuries, the vehicles involved, and the entire crash scene.
- Collect the information of anyone who witnessed the accident.
- Report the accident to the rideshare company.
- Talk with a rideshare accident attorney to understand your options,
How Long Do You Have to File a Rideshare Accident Claim?
After a rideshare accident in California, you generally have two years from the date of the accident to file your claim. Although this may sound like plenty of time, it is always better to start the claim process as soon as possible. An Orange County accident attorney can advise you on your deadlines.
How an Orange County Uber and Lyft Accident Attorney Can Help You
An Uber and Lyft accident attorney can help you in these ways:
- Analyze your case under California law and let you know how to move forward
- Investigate and build your claim from the start
- Work to minimize your stress while you recover from your injuries
- Represent you with skill and dedication in any settlement negotiations
- Litigate your case before a judge and fight for the compensation that you deserve
Contact an Orange County Uber & Lyft Accident Lawyer Today
If you were injured in a rideshare accident, contact Silverthorne Attorneys today. We are dedicated to serving the people of Orange County. We are here to help, and we are ready to answer any questions you have. Our experienced team is known for the attention we provide to every client. We will work tirelessly to maximize your compensation.
If you have been injured in a rideshare accident, contact us today. Call us or use our online contact form.